Oratories on the West Side of the Haram Esh Sherif Wood engraving published in Picturesque Palestine, about 1870. Recent hand colouring.

The structure is also known as the Sabil (Fountain) of Sultan Qayt Bay. It was built in 1482. This view is from the north side.


From Past to Present

The photo at the left, taken in July 2000, shows the southeast side of the Sabil Qayt Bay. The fountain was restored in 1883 and its appearance changed somewhat from that shown in the drawing above. Note the change above the large window. (Photo by Nelle Green)


<--Previous Print--|--Catalogue of All Prints--|--Next Print-->


Return to:
Jerusalem in 19th Century Art